International Tournaments

World Series of Poker

World Series of Poker abbreviated WSOP it is a great poker tournament which is held annually at Las Vegas, S.U.A. The first tournament WSOP held in Horseshoe Casino among the best known 6 players of poker which where invited by the owner of the casino Benny Binion. The tournament was not knock-out type , but had a predetermined period , after which the winner Johnny Moss was established by secret ballot !

After the first tournament , the number of participants WSOP increased , but slowly. Only in 1979 there were more than 50 participants , and in 1982 more than 100. During this period several players who were successful became famous : Johnny Moss ( three wins ) Doyle Brunson and Stu Ungar ( with two ) . In the early 80s was introduced the system satelites, through which players can qualify for certain events in the tournament for a sum of money less than full participation fee for each event . The number of participants began to increase and only for the Main Event ( Main Event - NL Texas Hold'em). In 1987 occurred 152 participants in 1991 - 215 ,in 2000 - 512 and after that in 2004 to make a spectacular leap to 2576 participants , compared with 839 in 2003 . Most participate in the main event was established in 2006 to 8773 .

Initially WSOP was consisted of a single event type NL Texas Hold'em. In 1973it was introduced the event type Stud with five books then the number of events increased and diversified types of events . In 2007 , WSOP consisted of a series of 55 events and this year were 57. All editions of WSOP culminate in the main event , the last of the tournament , with the biggest prize , which gives the winner a World Champion title at Poker (World Champion of Poker) . The winner of each event within WSOP receives Gold Bracelet marked WSOP and prize money ( cash ) which is calculated based on the number of participants at the event and the individual participation fee ( for example , this year's main event winner will receive a prize of over U.S. $ 8.5 million) . Bracelets WSOP are the most coveted prizes for poker players worldwide as the most prestigious awarded after winning the main event .

Tournament of WSOP take place in June and July of each year . Each event can take one or more days . Exceptionally , in 2008 , the final table of nine players for the main event was postponed to November the same year and given the success recorded audience. Since 2004 Horseshoe casino was purchased from owner Benny Binion by company Harrah's Entertainment which obtained such rights organization WSOP and moved the venue from their hotel at Rio Las Vegas.

Since 2007 tournament WSOP expanded outside the U.S.named World Series of Poker Europe (WSOPE) , which is held annually in September in London.


Most WSOP bracelets were captured so far by Phil Hellmuth , Jr. ( 11 ) followed by Doyle Brunson and Johnny Chan ( by 10 ) . Most wins in the main event have : Johnny Moss (1970, 1971, 1974), Stu Ungar (1980, 1981, 1997),Doyle Brunson (1976 , 1977 ) and Johnny Chan (1987, 1988).